Song Of The Day: Shipping News – Actual Blood

It was around this hour 3 years ago that I was stuck on 95 about 2 hours north of DC, on my way to the NIH complex. Kristin was there with Jason, he’d taken a nose dive after the clinical trial drugs he’d been given reeked havoc on his immune system. Heart attack, pneumonia, septic infection had settled in – but there was no chance, in my minds eye, that there would be death – I was going to support my sister-in-law, and to see my best man pull through, and grow strong again.
I was just giving my bride a hair-cut sass up – not trying to be overly dramatic, I likened my then mindset to the cover of the New York times on September 11th, 2001 – with images of hasidic jews signing contracts + a story about stem cell research, but no hint of what was to actually happen that day.
I was stuck in traffic on August 2nd, 2012, with images of a healthy JBN singing Depeche Mode covers in between set-list songs, fixin’ dinner at Woodbine and laughing his ass off at whatever, with no idea of what would happen within the next 48 hours.
Dear Forever Best Man, you are missed largely.

Jeff Mueller

Jason Noble

Lascia un commento

